On 21 December 2017, the Federal Ministry of Finance published a fourth BMF circular on urgent application issues raised by the BVI and the German banking industry regarding the InvStG 2018 (IV C 1 - S 1980-1/16/10010:016). Some important statements (in particular non-objection regulations) can be summarised as follows:

  • In 2018, the tax authorities will not object if an umbrella investment fund falls below the equity participation ratio specified in its investment conditions.
  • For the purposes of the equity participation ratio, only equity participations in which the fund is not only the legal owner but also the beneficial owner within the meaning of Section 39 AO are to be taken into account. If an investment fund has transferred ownership of equity interests under civil law (e.g. as part of a securities loan), these equity interests are not to be taken into account, even if a re-transfer claim exists.
  • Until 2020, the tax authorities will not object if a simplified electronic procedure is used as a basis for the purpose of waiving the deduction of capital gains tax. In 2018, a still valid non-assessment certificate pursuant to section 11 (2) sentence 4 InvStG 2004 may be used instead of the status certificate.
  • The tax authorities will not object if a special investment fund holds assets that it is permitted to hold on 31 December 2017 in accordance with section 1 (1b) sentence 2 no. 5 InvStG 2004, but which are no longer permitted in accordance with section 26 no. 4 InvStG 2018 (e.g. certain unlisted securities), until 30 June 2018.
  • For the qualification of a special investment fund that invests in real estate companies and has to comply with the requirements of section 26 no. 5 InvStG 2018, there will be no objections until 31 December 2019 if the previous regulation in section 1 para. 1b sentence 2 no. 6 sentence 2 InvStG 2014 continues to be used as a basis for the question of the permissibility of investments in real estate companies.
  • The tax authorities will not raise any objections if an exercise carried out in 2018 Transparency option (Section 30 InvStG) prior to the inflow of the first domestic investment income in 2019 with effect from 2019. Furthermore, an unexercised transparency option can be exercised at any later date with effect for the future. The so-called real estate transparency option, which avoids taxation of real estate income at fund level through a tax deduction on the fund exit side, is also not intended as an option that can be exercised on an annual basis.

Further information at TAXGATE, in the altii blog and in the enclosed Webinar.

Share this article on social media

More blog articles

More from our blog

TAXGATE GmbH
Charlottenplatz 6
70173 Stuttgart

Close
Contact us

Do you need advice?

Viertes BMF-Schreiben zum InvStG veröffentlicht

von | 28.12.2017 | News

Am 21.12.2017 hat das Bundesfinanzministerium ein viertes BMF-Schreiben zu dringlichen Anwendungsfragen des BVI und der Deutschen Kreditwirtschaft zum InvStG 2018 veröffentlicht (IV C 1 – S 1980-1/16/10010:016). Einige wichtige Aussagen (insbesondere Nichtbeanstandungsregelungen) lassen sich wie folgt zusammenfassen:

  • Die Finanzverwaltung wird es in 2018 nicht beanstanden, wenn ein Dach-Investmentfonds die in seinen Anlagebedingungen festgelegte Kapitalbeteiligungsquote unterschreitet.
  • Für Zwecke der Kapitalbeteiligungsquote sind nur solche Kapitalbeteiligungen zu berücksichtigen, bei denen der Fonds nicht nur rechtlicher, sondern auch wirtschaftlicher Eigentümer i.S.d. § 39 AO ist. Wenn ein Investmentfonds das zivilrechtliche Eigentum an Kapitalbeteiligungen übertragen hat (z.B. im Rahmen einer Wertpapierleihe), so sind diese Beteiligungen nicht zu berücksichtigen, auch wenn ein Rückübertragungsanspruch besteht.
  • Bis 2020 wird es die Finanzverwaltung nicht beanstanden, wenn für Zwecke der Abstandnahme vom Kapitalertragsteuerabzug ein vereinfachtes elektronisches Verfahren zu Grunde gelegt wird. Im Jahre 2018 darf anstelle der Statusbescheinigung auf eine noch gültige NV-Bescheinigung nach § 11 Abs. 2 S. 4 InvStG 2004 abgestellt werden.
  • Die Finanzverwaltung wird es nicht beanstanden, wenn ein Spezial-Investmentfonds Vermögensgegenstände, die er am 31.12.2017 zulässigerweise nach § 1 Abs. 1b S. 2 Nr. 5 InvStG 2004 hält, die aber nach § 26 Nr. 4 InvStG 2018 nicht länger zulässig sind (z.B. bestimmte nicht notierte Wertpapiere), bis zum 30. Juni 2018 behält.
  • Für die Qualifikation eines Spezial-Investmentfonds, der in Immobiliengesellschaften investiert und die Vorgaben des § 26 Nr. 5 InvStG 2018 zu beachten hat, wird es bis zum 31.12.2019 nicht beanstandet, wenn für die Frage der Zulässigkeit von Investitionen in Immobiliengesellschaften weiterhin auf die bisherige Regelung in § 1 Abs. 1b S. 2 Nr. 6 S. 2 InvStG 2014 abgestellt wird.
  • Die Finanzverwaltung wird es nicht beanstanden, wenn eine im Jahr 2018 ausgeübte Transparenzoption (§ 30 InvStG) vor dem Zufluss der ersten inländischen Beteiligungseinnahme im Jahr 2019 mit Wirkung ab dem Jahr 2019 widerrufen wird. Im Übrigen kann eine nicht ausgeübte Transparenzoption mit Wirkung für die Zukunft zu einem beliebigen späteren Zeitpunkt ausgeübt werden. Auch die sog. Immobilien-Transparenzoption mit Vermeidung einer Besteuerung der Immobilienerträge auf Fondsebene durch Steuerabzug auf der Fondsausgangsseite ist nicht als jährlich wechselnd ausübbares Wahlrecht gedacht.

Weitere Informationen unter TAXGATE, im altii-Blog sowie in beigefügtem Webinar.

Kommentar absenden

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.